Sophie Kingo Blogs

Insight into Sophie Kingo's African-Scandinavian inspired clothing and accessories

Liberty print Peter Pan collar top

Leave a comment

I’ve been busy trying to build up stock for the first Sophie Kingo market stall this spring/summer (more on that later) but a couple of weeks ago managed to find time to make myself a new item of clothing out of an old remnant of Liberty lawn cotton I had knocking around.

My second ever dress was a maxi dress made with fabric my (then) boyfriend (now husband) bought me for Christmas 2008. I’ve used little bits and pieces that were left over for birds, bunting and oyster card holders. But the other day, when I’d decided I wanted to make myself a top, I wished for enough of this Liberty fabric to make it happen.

I had bought a pattern some time ago but had not liked it enough to use it; I just wasn’t a fan of the frill down the front of the neckline. But I thought I’d make a start with it and see what took my fancy. Half way through I knew that without anything around the neckline the top would be too plain and not worth the fabric or time.

So, I drew up a Peter Pan collar, cut out some Broderie Anglais from my fabric stash and incorporated that into the design. And I love it. Planning to head down to Liberty sometime soon for some new fabric to get some more on the go.

Peter Pan collar Liberty top Changing the collar

Leave a comment