Sophie Kingo Blogs

Insight into Sophie Kingo's African-Scandinavian inspired clothing and accessories

Cardigan number two

Leave a comment

photo (13)

I got the cardigan knitting bug after finishing a beautiful Acer cardigan in November and straight away started on a Lady Marple cardigan. And I finished it in Hull, just before Christmas.

Unlike the Acer, which had a cable pattern back and was made using a double knit (light worsted/8 ply) merino wool yarn, Lady Marple had a plain back and was made using heavier aran (worsted/10 ply) merino wool yarn, so was much quicker to complete.

I had to learn a new knitting technique for this one. It’s completely seamless, meaning I had to pick up and knit short rows for the upper arm then knit the arms in the round using the magic loop method. In the image accompanying the pattern the top of the sleeves have a rippled effect due to an uneven tension in the knit/purl rows. I tend to find keeping an even tension hard in some yarn when knitting in stocking stitch – my purl is always looser than my knit – but am very pleased to see no ripple effect, despite the fiddliness of short rows into the arm hole bind off stitches.

Apart from that, the button band is a little tight, and I should have probably picked up a few more stitches, but I’m very happy with this cardigan too. But with the weather so mild at the moment, such a  thick wool cardigan is feeling a little bit too warm.

Come on January. Throw the elements at us. I want to wear my new cardigan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

