Sophie Kingo Blogs

Insight into Sophie Kingo's African-Scandinavian inspired clothing and accessories

New baby knits

Leave a comment

It’s been a while since I last blogged on knitting and craft. In my last two posts I took time out to talk about the state of racism in Denmark and some songs I was enjoying listening to. Shamefully, the last knitting I blogged about was back in January when I showed you pictures of my friend Emma in her Christmas knits.

Compared to my craft successes of 2010, being creative this year is slow going. But I have my excuse – wedding planning and wedding crafting. I have made save the date cards and am finishing off our official invitations while knitting and sewing lengthy projects which won’t be posted either till they’re finished or until we’re wed.

But luckily I today have some knitting to share with you, thanks to the lucky recipient being born yesterday. I’m very chuffed with these items; this was the first time I did some more frequent cabling and the first time I took on repetitive lace work, which set me up nicely for my wedding knitting.

All three patterns are from Sirdar Tiny Tots Essentials, knitted in Debbie Bliss eco baby cotton yarn (I don’t like Sirdar’s range). I do like Sirdar patterns though as I find them nicely easy to follow but, as always, too big for brand new babies, despite choosing the size for newborns and doing a swatch. But hey ho. It’s spring now, so by the time autumn comes round the hat and booties will feet perfectly.

Here they are:

Leave a Reply

